

Rappahannock Emergency Medical Services Council, Inc.

Serving Caroline, Colonial Beach, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fredericksburg, King George, Orange, Rappahannock, Spotsylvania and Stafford

For Immediate Release

Date:June 19, 2018Contact:Wayne Perry, Executive DirectorPhone:540-373-0249

NEWS RELEASE

RAPPAHANNOCK EMS COUNCIL RECOGNIZES OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO EMS IN THE REGION

Fredericksburg, VA – The 2018 Rappahannock EMS Council's regional awards ceremony was held Tuesday, June 12th at the National Museum of the Marine Corps. This year the Rappahannock EMS Council region was honored to present awards to the following:

- * Outstanding Pre-Hospital Provider Laura Baxter, LifeCare Medical Transports
- Soutstanding EMS Physician- Dr. Michael Jenks, Fauquier Hospital
- * Outstanding Pre-Hospital Educator- Kim Madison, Spotsylvania Volunteer Rescue Squad
- * Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS- Kamry Mackison, Fauquier Hospital
- Soutstanding EMS Administrator- Kaytlin Cockerill, Culpeper County Rescue Squad
- Outstanding EMS Agency- Quantico Fire and Emergency Services
- Contribution to EMS Health & Safety- Spotsylvania County Fire, Rescue and Emergency Management
- Outstanding Contribution to EMS for Children- Sandy Holland, Fredericksburg Rescue Squad
- Outstanding Telecommunications/Dispatch- Tammy Tolson, Stafford County
- Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a High School Senior- Mikayla Cunney, Fredericksburg Rescue Squad
- * EMS Emergency Preparedness & Response- LifeCare Medical Transports
- * Excellence in EMS- Scott Chamberlain, Fauquier County Fire and Rescue

"These award winners represent some of the best providers and agencies in our area. We are proud of the quality Emergency Medical Services program we have in our region" stated Kevin Dillard, President of the Rappahannock EMS Council. Recipients of this year's regional awards will compete for the 2018 Governor's EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium's Annual Awards Ceremony on November 10, 2018 in Norfolk, VA. Winners will be presented with a plaque and a certificate signed by the Governor.