Regional EMS Awards

Regional EMS Awards

Do you know a provider, organization or program that should be recognized for its excellence, dedication and contribution to Virginia’s Emergency Medical Services (EMS) system? If so, submit a nomination today!

Please click here for downloadable nomination forms

About the Awards

The purpose of the regional EMS awards program is to recognize outstanding service and contributions to the local, regional or statewide EMS system. Eleven categories, plus an additional high school scholarship award, recognize EMS field providers, EMS instructors, EMS agencies, EMS agency administrators, public safety communications officers, emergency nurses, operational medical directors, EMS health and safety programs, EMS for children programs, emergency preparedness and response and overall excellence in EMS. The regional award categories are consistent with the Governor's EMS Awards program, and regional winners are automatically nominated for the Governor's awards.

Any person may submit a nomination for any award(s).  The person making the nomination should have knowledge of the nominee’s qualifications for the specific award category.  A nominee’s actions need not be extraordinary…consistent and high-quality work on a daily basis is often deserving of special recognition.  Many local EMS agencies provide annual awards, and agency leaders should nominate those individuals for regional awards.  The nominee must have current licensure or certification in the category in which he or she has been nominated.  These are state awards so accomplishments and achievements beyond the agency and local level have more impact.  Those with regional, statewide or national contributions might have an advantage.

Up to 3 attachments will be accepted for each nomination.  These can be a letter of support/recommendation. Resume, CV and newspaper/periodical articles.  Please include a high-resolution picture of the nominee.

Please submit all completed nominations to the REMS Council at By April 30, 2023

Selection Process

An awards selection committee appointed by the Rappahannock EMS Council’s Board of Directors will select award recipients. Members of the awards committee are not eligible to receive an award. The Criteria and Eligibility information will be used to evaluate nominations for each of the award categories. Persons submitting nominations are urged to consider these criteria. The selection committee or staff may correspond directly with nominees in order to obtain additional eligibility and supporting information. The awards committee reviews the nominations and supporting documentation and selects award recipients in all categories. The selection committee's decisions are final. All award recipients will receive a specially engraved award at the REMS Council Awards Ceremony with a date and location TBD.

All regional award winners will be sent to VAOEMS.  The EMS Advisory Board EMS Awards Selection Committee will review and recommend Governor’s awards winners from among the first place winners in each of the eleven regional EMS Council’s competition.  The state committee will forward its recommendations to the Governor for final selections and presentation during the annual EMS Symposium in November.

Please click here for downloadable nomination forms

Comments are closed.